Sel, Okt

BN List Of Candidates Almost Ready, Says Ku Nan


PUTRAJAYA - The list of Barisan Nasional candidates for the general election is “almost ready”, says coalition secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

“As long as we haven’t announced the names, there is room for changes to be made,” he added without elaborating.

Last week, he was quoted as saying that the list would be announced 10 days or a week before nomination day on April 28.

There is speculation that a few incumbent MPs would be dropped, some of them “old faces” or considered unable to secure victory any more for various reasons, including personal controversies.

Tapah MP Datuk Seri M. Saravanan said those who attended were reminded to support Barisan, even if they were not chosen to contest in the polls.

“He wants us to defend and support the party, even if we are dropped,” he said.

Incumbent Santubong MP Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said the Barisan chairman thanked all the lawmakers for their services over the past five years. However, Najib did not mention anything about their candidacy, he added.

Incumbent MP for Arau, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim, said the Barisan chairman stressed unity, family spirit and loyalty.

“He wants us to maintain our kindredship, family spirit and loyalty so that we can win this elections. I hope everyone in Barisan will heed his advice,” he said.

Johor Baru MP Tan Sri Shahrir Abdul Samad, when asked if Najib had named candidates at the meeting, said: “It has not reached that stage yet.”

Datuk Liang Teck Meng of Simpang Renggam said the meeting was for Najib to send out his message and tell component parties to be fully prepared for the battle.

Others seen at Seri Perdana were Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Bagan Datuk), Datuk Seri Hisham­muddin Hussein (Sembrong), Datuk Seri Anifah Aman (Kimanis), Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof (Petra Jaya), Datuk Ahmad Maslan (Pontian), Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed (Pulai), Datuk Hasan Arifin (Rompin), Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Bera), Datuk Abdul Azeez Rahim (Baling) and Datuk Aziz Kaprawi (Sri Gading).

Among the earliest to leave the meeting was Jempol MP Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad while one of the last to leave was Kinabatangan MP Datuk Bung Moktar Radin.

At 11.30am, Najib left Seri Perdana in a car bearing his favourite number, 11.


Daftar melalui perkhidmatan langganan e-mel percuma kami untuk menerima pemberitahuan apabila maklumat baru diperolehi.